Some tossin’ and some cuttin’

After lots of dancing it was time to toss some stuff and cut our cakes. It was around 1 am, so most of our guest were still there.

When we met our DJ, I told him a was a huge Elvis fan, and he casually told us that one of his friends was making him an Elvis costume. So random! I told him that if he ever wanted to wear it to a wedding, this was IT… and so he did! I loved it!

First we cut our cakes. I still can not fathom why we didn’t planned this with him. So what happened was this:

Image

We stood in front of everybody with the cakes in front of us, we cut them and that was it! Ha ha! No cute cake feeding or anything at all!  So please, plan this ahead with your emcee.

Image

Image

Next came the garter toss.

Image

Checking the garter is in position

I don’t know about other places, but in Mexico City it is custom that everybody, married or single, gets up for the tosses (well, the older folks don’t do it). Generally this would be the moment to do La Vibora de la Mar, but after a lot of thinking about it we chose not to have it. Instead, the guests had to “work” for the garter/bouquet. This means that they had to dance a little before we threw anything.

Mr. WV chose “Sex on the Beach” since it is a song he and his friends love. They’ve been to at least three bachelor parties in Miami (Mr. WV had his there also) and apparently that song is a staple on each of those parties.

Image

Image

Mr. WV looking for it

Image

Image

Image

Image

And the winner is… Mr. WV’s elementary school friend that came all the way from Cancun!

Next it was my turn. I grabbed my throwing bouquet, which was smaller and more colorful than my first bouquet.  The song I chose for my friends to dance was Two Times by Ann Lee. Tup tu-ru-ru-ru-ru, tup tu-ru-ru-ru-ru…

Image

Hahaha! He dressed like Elvis! Gotta love him!

Image

Image

Image

And the winner is…my college friend! So happy she got it!

So that was it. Overall we really enjoyed this part of the party, so I encourage you to do it. Fun times!

Image

After this our main coordinator and our photographer left. We still had about two more hours of dancing and then the mariachi band… I’m looking everywhere to see if I can find a photo of them, wish me luck!

Image

Leave a Reply

