Party time!

After our first dance the dance floor was opened and it was packed in no time. Most of our guests love to dance, and I think it is an accurate representation of the mexican culture. Whenever there’s music, people want to get up. 

We danced and danced. Actually I regret this a bit. I wish I hadn’t danced so much, instead I wish I had talked a bit more with our guests – I mean, I was having so much fun, but I feel like I should’ve interacted more with them. 

The DJ played Big Band, Rock and Roll, Salsa, Cumbia, Norteño, 70’s and 80’s hits and some actual pop music. The dance floor was never empty – here is a short video so you can see how it looked during the party:

Here are some dance floor shots:

Image

Image

 

Image

Image

Image

ImageImage

A popular thing in mexican weddings is to give props to your guests – little trinkets that go with the music they are playing at that moment. For example, when it was Rock and Roll time, they gave us little guitars, microphones and sunglasses. They do make the dancing more fun, and I must say, easier, since even if you don’t know how to dance you can wave your balloon or play with your hat and it will appear that you know what you are doing. 

Image

Some of the things they gave us were: balloons in different shapes: long skinny ones, guitars, microphones, trumpets…

Image

Image

 

 

Funky wigs

Image

Shiny necklaces

Image

Hats! Colorful ones…

Image

I was super disappointed – the hat didn’t fit because of my ponytail! 

…and straw ones.

Image

And some silly headbands

Image

 

Oh, great times! Too bad they were over so fast.

Image

Image

….”can’t take my eyes off you”…

 

Next: We toss some stuff!

Image

 

 

Leave a Reply

