Our Cakes and Candy Table

Here! Take a look at our cakes!

IMG_8714

IMG_8713.jpg

 

No matter all my efforts to plan ahead and prepare for the cakes, when the time came I was clueless as to how I wanted them decorated. I didn’t had any problems with the baking, cooling and filling times, but when all that was done, I had no idea what to do next!

I had the tiny sugar flowers and the cake toppers,  but that was it. So I did what anyone in my place would do. Sat down, ate a bowl of ice cream and when it was really really late (midnight late) I began decorating them.

DSC_0338

As previously planned, we had three cakes: a three tier one (white cake with lemon curd and cream cheese frosting) a two tier one (coffee cake with chocolate freckles, filled and covered with chocolate ganache) and a one tier cake (originally supposed to be red velvet, but Mr. WV requested it to be a banana cake with brown sugar buttercream).

DSC_0348

I can´t tell that I’m super happy with how they turned out, I know I could have done much better, but considering all the time I loss while eating ice cream and watching movies, I think they turned out ok!

I obviously used our colors: navy, coral, white and gold, and I also tried to incorporate the flower theme on all of them.

DSC_0347

The two tier one was my favorite, I just loved that cake topper with our initials and the sparkly heart.

DSC_0342

And overall I think they looked pretty cute on their table, which was decorated with a navy linen, some crystals, paper flowers and of course candles.

IMG_8652

But what is most important, is that they were good! All the guests ate their slices and enjoyed them! Yum!

Here some shots of our candy/snacks table. As a reminder, I individually wrapped all the candy, so they also served as favors.

IMG_8602

IMG_8604

IMG_8603

IMG_8601

The table looked beautiful and by the time the wedding was over all the candy was gone, so success!

And now, just a quick how-I-did-it.

The days before the wedding I wrapped and labeled all the candy.

PicMonkey Collage.jpg

Then I put everything on their containers and set a mock-up table.

P1050942

P1050943

P1050946

P1050947

I added little banners with the name of each candy.

P1050953 P1050952 P1050951

Then, I covered all the containers with clear wrap and store them in plastic boxes. All the extra candy that didn’t fit on the containers was securely stored in a separate transparent box.

I printed all this photos and gave them to my coordinator, so she had an idea of how I wanted things arranged in the table. Of course, they looked a bit different since she actually used three different tables with different heights, and also added some flower arrangements.

The day of the wedding all her team had to do was unwrap all the containers and set them in positions similar to those on the photos.

So there you have it, my DIY candy and snacks table.

Next: the party really starts, mexican style!

wblogo

Leave a Reply

