Dress Quest: Part 1

I know that most brides start looking for their dress even before getting engaged. I was never like that. For me the dress was important, but I just didn’t had any idea of what I wanted. While browsing bridal magazines, I always skipped the dress pages. What I wanted to see were the invitations, cake and small details.

So, when I was finally ready to go dress shopping (after losing weight and with just 6 months left before the wedding) I pulled out all my Martha Stewart Weddings magazines and started browsing the dress pages.

Since we are only having a civil ceremony, I didnt’ wanted anything too big or puffy (so ball gowns were out) or with a super long train. I also knew I wouldn’t wear a veil.

The more I looked, the more I liked the mermaid/trumpet/fit and flare type of dresses. I have an hourglass shape, so I was hopefull that they would look good on me, but I am also short, so I didn’t know if they would make me look shorter.

Finally I made an appointment on two bridal houses. One carries only their own styles, while the other sells dresses from different brands.

So, it was just my mom and me, on a thursday morning, which was a great day to go, because both stores where empty.  I had a light breakfast, went with a  fresh clean face and a pony tail.

I had a blast! It was so much fun trying all those dresses, looking at the 180º mirrors, with the help of some amazing lighting. My mom was on the other side of the curtains, so every time the consultant opened them I felt like a star!! Ha ha!!

Before going, I browsed both stores catalogs, so I knew exactly which dresses I wanted to try on. Sadly, pictures were not allowed. I don’t understand why, I mean, if you want to copy the styles you can look at the pictures on the web, right?…

On the first store I tried these:

Berna: I liked this dress, the sweetheart neckline looked great, but it was a bit too much lace for me.

Image

Picasso: Loved how this one looked on the model and on the hanger, but the skirt was a bit too puffy for me.

Image

Ensueño: I liked it, but again, too much lace. I found this to be a problem. Most of the dresses they carried had lace. And I like lace, but more for a day wedding. I wanted something a bit shinier.

Image

Enamorada: I tried this on only because the consultant insisted I tried different silohuettes. I hated it.

Image

Benice: I love-love-love this dress. It gave me the best shape ever. It has a bit of lace, a bit of satin and a bit of tule. Plus, it had tiny cristal beads that reflected the light when I moved… but there was a problem… I couldn’t move!  Only tiny steps. Besides, I couldn’t get it up, so going to the bathroom was… not happening!  The consultant suggested I take it off entirely every time I needed to pee… ha!! Still, I was in love…

Image

 

All photos via Essence

That appointment was over, so we left that store and went to the next one.

Did you tried on different silhouettes or where you set on a particular one?

Leave a Reply

